Monthly Updates

Starting March

I wish I could say I am looking forward to spring, but Texas has been teasing us with 80 degree temperatures for a few weeks already. It’s a little crazy – for once I wanted more of the cold, hide under the blankets and read weather.

Regardless of the wacky weather, among other craziness, I managed to read 9 books during this short month. Here’s the list:

A Hope More Powerful Than the Sea by: Melissa Fleming (4 stars)

4 Letters of Love by: Niall Williams (4 stars)

Bright Star by: John Keats (3 stars)

Time Traveler’s Wife by: Audrey Niffenegger (5 stars)

Victoria by: Daisy Goodwin (3 stars)

The Paris Wife by: Paula McClain (4 stars)

Antony and Cleopatra by: William Shakespeare (4 stars)

Monsters: Poetry on How to Bite Back by: Jacqui Smith (4 stars)

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by: Maya Angelou (4 stars)

I had hoped to read The Birth of Venus by: Sarah Dunant this month but I just couldn’t get into it at the time. Being truthful, Time Traveler’s Wife beat me up. I felt emotionally drained from that book and needed something to lift my spirits and get me out of the romantic zone I was in for February. When I cracked open Birth of Venus, it opened by discussing the dismal life with the walls of a convent. I just couldn’t do it. So maybe next month, or even later in the year when I am more in the mood for historical fiction.

March looks like it is going to be a wild month for me as well. Lots of exciting life changes are just around the corner, bringing the new season with it. I have 9 books on my schedule this month, including a few I’m very excited to try. I’ll check in soon!

One thought on “Starting March

Leave a Reply

