Monthly Updates

March Wrap-up

I really can’t believe March is over. Although it was long in terms of weeks, it flew by for me. Logan and I have been spending most weekends looking for a house, which has been unfruitful. At this point, we are mentally preparing ourselves that we may have to stay in the apartment for another year. The only bright side to that is that we’d probably spend some money on a nice vacation. Which after all the stress that has been house hunting and putting bids on almost 10 homes and losing out – I’ll say we’ve earned it.

But one thing that is making me love our apartment a little more is that we moved around our living room furniture. So now we have a little book nook AND a new bookshelf!

It took some time and heavy lifting, but it was so much fun to get it all sorted an alphabetical again. I’m in love with the beanbag chair, and surprisingly our cats haven’t realized how comfy it is yet so I’m taking full advantage of that.

Despite my weekends being very busy, I’ve managed to read 9 books. (And nearly complete my March TBR!) I am still finishing up Gates of the Alamo, which is almost 600 pages. I fell a little behind at the end of the month but I should have it finished by the end of tomorrow and then I will be starting my April list.

Before starting this project, I honestly don’t think I could ever read so much in a set amount of time. I’ve always been a pretty fast reader and I enjoy doing it but I’ve never measured my progress. Having some kind of goal has been a fun and exciting challenge, and it’s really cool to look at my bookshelf and have read so many more and know the stories within them. I’m 73 percent done with my Goodreads goal, and if I complete my April TBR, I will have completed it. The question now is do I change the goal, or enjoy the stats that Goodreads has once you finish the goal? I’d appreciate any input!

My top 3 books this month were:

  1. The Book Thief by: Markus Zusak
  2. Arrival by: Ted Chiang
  3. Big Little Lies by: Liane Moriarty

My least favorite book was definitely Spindle’s End. Not that I didn’t enjoy the story, I just didn’t enjoy my reading experience.

And with that said, April is here! It’s been so sunny here I’m not sure I can stand by “April showers bring May flowers”, but I can dream. I love gray days and stormy evenings, so I’ll be hoping for many this month.

Here is my TBR for April!

IMG_3013All Creatures Great and Small by: James Herriot

The Cement Garden by: Ian McEwan

Other Side by: Ray Hollar-Gregory

The Merchant of Venice by: William Shakespeare

Sense and Sensibility by: Jane Austen

The Devil’s Company by: David Liss

Serena by: Ron Rash

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by: Therese Fowler

 

The Red Pyramid by: Rick Riordan

The American Heiress by: Daisy Goodwin

 

I may switch out Sense and Sensibility for something else as I’m feeling a little burnt out on Jane Austen since reading Emma last month. I think this will be an exciting month! There are some old books I’ve had forever and some newer ones I’m excited to try too.

Happy reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

