Tags

Spring Has Sprung! Tag

 

I’ve been enjoying the nice weather and so when I saw this spring themed tag, I knew I wanted to participate! I spotted this on Alicia’s blog, A Kernel of Nonsense. Have you got any spring favorites? I’d love to hear about it, or your answers to this tag!

 

FLOWERS.
Look on your shelves. 18035507_10154301448352714_310025959_nWhat is the most beautiful book both inside and out?

Tales from the Arabian Nights as translated by Richard Francis Burton

 

 

I’ve been looking for a copy of this for a long time, but this one is just stunning, so when I saw it I had to purchase it. The blue and orange look awesome in contrast with one another, and even the pages inside are beautiful!18035494_10154301448302714_249331201_n

 

GRASS.
What is a book that you find others like way more than you do?

The Lord of the Rings by: JRR Tolkien

I know this one hurts Logan deep in his heart. Maybe the books are better, but the movies make me hate life. I am aware there is more to it, but I just am not invested enough in the characters to watch them walk forever.

 

RAIN.
18052635_10154301448497714_1909916591_nWhat’s a great book that lifts your spirits when you’re down?

Sounds Like Me by: Sara Bareilles

Just like her music, Sara’s book makes me smile from start to finish. She has a way with telling stories (even difficult ones) with heart and wit that is part of why I love her so much. Plus, look at this cover! It’s got so many bright and fun colors, how could it not lift your spirits?

 

DEW.
What book made you feel a18009047_10154301448282714_1712840204_nlive?

The Mercy of Thin Air by: Ronlyn Domingue

I ‘borrowed’ this book from my best friend almost 10 years ago, and it never found it’s way back to her. But let me tell you, it is one of my most reread books. It’s so atmospheric and I learn something new every time. Even though it’s a book about a dead woman whose spirit lingers, it definitely makes me feel alive.

STORMS.
18009977_10154301448397714_2140768619_nWhat book did you find unpredictable?

The Dry by: Jane Harper

This was my first crime thriller of the year, and I loved it! Throughout the book, everyone was at least a little bit suspicious so you suspected everyone had a part to play. The last 40 pages took me for a wild ride that I didn’t see coming.

 

RAINBOW.
scarletletterWhat was a book that you struggled with only to be happy that you read it in the end?

The Scarlet Letter by: Nathaniel Hawthorne

As I’m sure is the case for many people, this was assigned reading in high school. I hated that I had to read it, and the only reason I finished it was for the sake of my grades. But now I realized it is referenced often, so I am glad to know what it’s all about.

CHILLY WEATHER.
18052627_10154301448412714_482382725_nWhat’s a book that you couldn’t finish or didn’t enjoy?

Anna Karenina by: Leo Tolstoy

Someday, this will happen. I stopped about 300 pages in because I was definitely not in the mood. The last straw for me is when there was a description of them putting down a horse that went on for 3 pages.

 

WARM WEATHER.
littlehouseWhat book did you love and want more of?

Little House on the Prairie series by: Laura Ingalls Wilder

I have very fond memories of my mom reading these to me before bed. The stories are so immersive, and I discovered a love for pioneer life and their stories with this series. I would have gladly read about Laura’s life for many more books.

GREEN.
18051790_10154301448467714_940672321_nWhat book have you not read yet but really want to?

Anything by Erik Larsen

Isaac’s Storm was one of my favorite books, I’ve read it several times. When I found out from one of my coworkers that he had some other works, I set out looking for them! I now have these 3, but I have yet to start on one yet since I’m making my way down my list.

PINK.
18051987_10154301448482714_1310678320_nWhat book made you feel a strong connection to the characters?

Remarkable Creatures by: Tracy Chevalier

I love Chevalier’s books, they are just everything I love about historical fiction. She tells the backstory of some real event, and in this one in particular I loved how the characters came to life. Even though they were both very different from me, I could relate to them and all I wanted was the best for them.

PURPLE.
What book makes you feel safe when you read it?

Harry Potter series by: JK Rowling

Is there a way I could do this list without Harry Potter being on it? Every time I open up those pages and feel the well worn spine crinkle I feel like I’m taking a bubble bath. Hogwarts truly is my home, and I will always feel safe when I visit.

ORANGE.
17974497_10154301448582714_1306160172_nWhat book do you feel is intelligently written?

F5 by: Mark Levine

Weather is one of my favorite subjects to study, that’s what I initially went to college for. Even though I eventually changed to Mass Communications, the stories of storms and the impact they have on us humans will always fascinate me. This book takes the stories of individuals in the way of this storm, while contrasting that with the science behind what made such a monster storm possible.

YELLOW.
18035758_10154301448627714_78715788_nWhat book puts a smile on your face?

Ahsoka by: E.K. Johnston

She’s quite possibly my favorite Star Wars character, she makes The Clone Wars series so awesome, and sadly, she hasn’t been in Rebels enough for my satisfaction. So the fact that I get to read more about her makes me smile! Not to mention she looks so badass on the cover, and it makes me so proud of her

 

This was so much fun, I’ve liked doing this tag because it makes look and think about my books in a new way!

If you’d like to do this tag, consider yourself officially tagged!

Leave a Reply

