Monthly Updates

Rolling into June

May has been a great month. The weather is getting warmer – calling for more time in the sun and even a dip in the pool. There were almost 2 weeks where I fell off the blogging wagon, but I just didn’t know how to review some of the books I enjoyed (specifically a non-fiction)! Even those this great weather has made me feel forgetful and spontaneous, I’ve managed to read quite a bit.

Here are all the books I read:

It’s Always the Husband

Anne of Windy Poplars

The Name of God is Mercy

Communication Revolution: Critical Junctures and the Future of Media

The Wanderers

The Virgin Blue

All Things Bright and Beautiful

As You Like It

It Happens in the Hamptons

 

I feel pretty accomplished with those 9! My favorites this month were:

  1. The Virgin Blue
  2. The Name of God is Mercy
  3. The Wanderers

It’s a bit hard to choose this time around. I read an Anne of Green Gables book which I always love, and the Communication Revolution book really expanded my understanding of the political economy of communication.

My least favorite was probably As You Like It. I generally enjoy Shakespeare, but this one wasn’t my cup of tea.

Looking forward to June, I’m both excited and a little intimidated. First of all, my birthday is this month! Not that I’ll probably do much, I always relish an opportunity to spend time with those closest to me, and maybe get pampered a little. My sister is also graduating high school the same weekend, so it should be a wild ride. I’m so proud of her, but not ready at all. I remember holding her in the hospital all too well.

As far as reading goes, I have all the books on my preordained list to get through, but I also have several ARCs I won through Goodreads that I would like to make an honest effort to read close to the release date. This amps up the pressure a little bit, but I think it will be a good challenge for me. Plus I’m looking forward to reviewing these for you all so that you can maybe go out and purchase them!

As I was getting my books together for the TBR photo, my cat decided she needed to participate. She’s become quite obsessed with piles of books, she loves to sniff them and rub her face on them (hence the crooked books). So please enjoy my photos, featuring my model, Ruby.

First, the ARCs are:

The Outer Cape by: Patrick Dacey

The Breakdown by: B.A. Paris

The Space Between the Stars by: Anne Corlett

When I was choosing books for the month of June, there wasn’t really a cohesive theme or feeling to them. But instead, I picked books based off of things I already loved. I’ll explain my thoughts below.

The Volcano Lover: A Romance by: Susan Sontag – This book sounds like it’s talking about me haha. When my family and I lived in Washington state, I was obsessed with volcanoes, specifically Mount St. Helens. So this book stood out on the shelf to me, and I can’t wait to see what it’s about.

Three Weeks with my Brother by: Nicholas Sparks – I’ve enjoyed my fair share of Nicholas Sparks books. Even though they are sometimes formulaic to the point where it’s funny, I love his stuff and it’s always good for a nice heart-felt read.

The Mermaid Chair by: Sue Monk Kidd – First of all, this cover with all the seashells is just stunning. Second, The Little Mermaid is one of my all time favorite stories, so I am hoping to get more mermaid (or at least ocean) goodness out of this read.

Devil in the White City by: Erik Larson – I’ve read Isaac’s Storm by the same author 3 times. When I found out from a coworker that he’s written other pieces with a similar deep dive into historical facts, I had to get my hands on them. I can’t wait to see what Erik Larson has in story for me with this one.

On Chesil Beach by: Ian McEwan – I probably don’t have to explain this one much. I love Atonement, and I’m on a quest to read more of McEwan’s works. So this one is next on the docket!

The Cuckoo’s Calling by: Robert Galbraith – As a lover of Harry Potter, I figured it was time to give Robert Galbraith a shot! I think I’ll enjoy this since I’ve discovered an affinity for mystery and espionage.

That’s it! Wish me luck as I keep making progress. What are you most excited to read this month? Have you read any of these and what did you think?

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

